My Liebster Award

liebster-award

Thank you so much for my Liebster Award nomination Andrea from Reisende Schildkroeten

Your award has definitely motivated me to fire out a few more posts from recent travels. It’s a great way also to discover more emerging bloggers. Below I have nominated some of my new favourites and here are the answers to my Liebster questions.

What made you decide to start blogging?
I was living in Beijing China where you pretty much see weird things daily. I was out walking, there were turtles for sale on the back of rickshaws, there were some men sitting in the blossom trees, there was a masseuse dressed in a shabby nurses uniform (trying but entirely missing the whole naughty nurse thing), there was an old lady sitting on the curb with bunny ears on her head. I just decided life probably won’t ever be so weird again, so I should start writing some of this stuff down. Someone else might be interested in the weird and wonderful little things I see or at least it will be fun to look back on!

What do you find more challenging about blogging?
It’s hard to consistently find the time to blog around being the mum of a baby/toddler. My almost 2 year old hates me sitting down at my laptop, she would rather we were drawing, painting generally making mess together all day long!

What is your top favorite thing about being a blogger?
It’s satisfying to switch off from my mummy duties and do something for myself. It also helps you look at things differently (find the silver linings) and capture new experiences from every day life.

From the places you have visited so far, which one is your favourite?
This is such a tough one, I guess it will always be New Zealand – my home because we have been away for so long. I love Queenstown! Abroad my favourite place would be in the South of France in summer for the climate, food and wine. We honeymooned in Avignon and it was pretty close to perfection!

What is the story behind you blog name?
I was trying to think of a blog name inspired by my daughter who has the craziest number of stamps in her passport for such a wee person. I was just brainstorming, I typed ‘Little Traveller’ into a search box somewhere and ‘Things’ auto completed my search. I liked the ring, the possibilities and it wasn’t taken, so I went with it!

What was your worst travel experience?
Easy – we were returning to China from New Zealand. My daughter hadn’t pooped for a week (she was still exclusively being breastfed so this was not cause for concern). She decided it was time as we were landing in Hong Kong. It was explosive, and our landing was slow. We were stuck on the runway for 15 minutes with the seatbelt sign on and I had a complete mess on my hands (a stench you would not believe filling the entire cabin) I couldn’t get her to the bathroom so I had to use what ever napkins, pillows and blankets I could find to contain the situation. Eventually they let me use the bathroom and it took me 20 minutes to clean her and myself up, the whole flight crew was waiting by this time for us to get off the plane. Let’s just say I handed back some very messy laundry.

What is your funniest travelling experience?
The reactions my daughter and I used to get flying with Air China, internally within China. Mainland Chinese might not have seen too many blonde-haired, blued-eyed mums and babies before. Sometimes it was like they had seen a ghost. Either that, or we just had a lot of cameras in our face. You couldn’t help but laugh although sometimes it got a bit much.

5 things that are always in your suitcase
My camera
Lots of baby wet wipes
Trainers – I need comfortable shoes when I travel
Uniqlo Ultra Light Down Jacket – It packs so small but it’s toasty warm
Eight Hour Cream – if I could have just one luxury product, it would be this

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
My home – Christchurch New Zealand; but the earthquake that changed it would never have happened and there would be an abundance of suitable creative job opportunities for both my husband and myself and more travel opportunities. NZ is paradise but a long way from EVERYTHING!

Can you describe yourself in three words?
Sensitive, loyal, thinking

What’s a piece of advice you’d give to a newbie blogger?
Just do whatever makes you happy and if you get something out of it – it’s worth it! Don’t worry about followers or likes. If that is your only motivation it probably won’t be sincere and you will feel restricted. Also look for your own niche (I’m still defining mine) it’s all work in progress. Oh and don’t copy others!

Nominations

I nominate the following bloggers:

1. Hey Helsinki
Another Kiwi girl throwing herself into all Helsinki has to offer. Her blog is a great resource of information if you intend to travel to these parts.

2. Coffee Tea Travels
This is a new blog I just stumbled across when the post ‘DON’T BE A TOURIST. BE A TRAVELLER.’ caught my eye. I really like where this blog is going with great pictures but it also looks set to be really practical and informative, especially if you’re a coffee fan or a foodie.

3. Cup of Tea and a Bex
This is the picturesque blog of my first friend in Beijing, someone who helped me settle into the madness of China. Bex captures her love of flowers, tea and her Instagram obsession here.

Rules

Rules are pretty simple:

-Each nominee must link back to the person who nominated them.
-Answer the eleven questions given to you by the nominator.
-Nominate three other bloggers who have less than 200 followers.
-Create 11 questions for the nominees to answer.
-Let the nominees know they have been nominated.

Your questions

Some questions are the same as above plus a few new ones:

What made you decide to start blogging?
What do you find most challenging about blogging?
What is your favorite thing about being a blogger?
What is the story behind you blog name?
What does your average day look like?
What one thing would you never leave home without?
If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
Can you describe yourself in three words?
What is your one vice?
What are you most proud of?
What’s a piece of advice you’d give to a newbie blogger?

It isn’t compulsory to participate (no pressure at all!) If you do decide to go for it please don’t forget the rules and thanks for reading to the end! 🙂

12 thoughts on “My Liebster Award

  1. Hi Leash,

    You write an excellent blog and I find your writing style really interesting.

    Keep up the good work.

    Love from your very own favourite FIL. XXX

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Sensitive loyal and thinking 😀these qualities certainly come through in your writing which we all enjoy so much. May you always be blessed with good health,happiness and good fortune where ever you travel Love to you and your little traveller xxx

  3. i think grace and I share the same sense of humour, nothing like a good old poo joke…good one Gracie! 😉 love reading these Leash, and you are most definitely sensitive, loyal and thinker (except when it came to learning to tell the time….not thinking much then hey haha) miss your face xx

  4. I’m very glad that the nomination encouraged you to keep blogging! 🙂

    As a tireless traveler, I always found challenging to combine maternity and traveling. I’m not mother yet but your blog is really inspiring for that matter 🙂
    I just hope that my future kids don’t decide to do a poop-bomb while landing! haha
    xxx

    1. You’re so sweet! 😀 I hope you don’t have to find out the hard way like we did, but I swear there is something going on with the cabin pressure on landing and a child’s need ‘to go!’ It’s not the only time she has decided to go at this very inconvenient time! Still this was by far the worst! Kids are beautiful, but they can be so gross! You’ll see! 😉

Leave a Reply

