Italian Vintage

Markets 10

Someone recently asked the question ‘where in the world would you go first if you hadn’t travelled?’ It got me thinking about my favourite destination so far. Maybe it’s because it’s still fresh in my mind, but I think it would have to be Italy!

I love the food, the street fashion, the colours, the history, the architecture, the climate and (normally when I am not carrying) the wine!

By chance we happened to be in Sirmione near Verona when this beautiful Vintage Market was on, giving me just one more reason to love Italy! Vintage Gucci, Prada, Fendi and Bottega Veneta bags, scarves, shoes and jewellery all at your finger tips.

It would have been easy to go a bit crazy here, generally though I try not to shop a lot when I travel as it usually ends in an impulse buy that you rarely wear on your home soil, but there was a lot to tempt me here! Caught up in the moment I wanted one of those floppy 70’s straw garden hats, some costume jewellery and a vintage clutch but realistically, will I be a wearing a wide brimmed sun hat back in Helsinki? Looking out the window today (and it’s officially mid summer holiday)…Not likely!

You can now also follow my posts over on the new online magazine Yummy Mummy’s World

Where is your favourite travel destination? I love Italy and hope to share a few more snaps from our recent visit, if baby stays put that is. Right now I am feeling massive and slowing down by the day.

18 thoughts on “Italian Vintage

    1. Lucky you getting to experience Rome for a while! Aren’t the colours of Italy just the best! Yeah I am kind of kicking myself for not picking up a few things at this market, although as you’d probably expect it wasn’t cheap!

  1. I have travelled quite a bit and I think no country really can compete with Italy. I chose it for our honeymoon when my husband hadn’t travelled much and it was his first European destination. Divine every where you look. Other favs are Cambodia, India, Morocco and Guatemala.

    1. Excellent honeymoon choice! You’re so right – it truly is beautiful everywhere you look! Of your other favourite destinations I have only been to Morocco so I have lots more to explore from your list. Thanks for the recommendations! πŸ™‚

  2. I enjoyed my trip to the market in Verona from my armchair at home in New Zealand in mid winter, because of the photos you shared and the wistful verbal commentary. I can just imagine the strength you had to muster to resist the temptation to splurge. Well done. We are shifting house as you may be aware and I have to admit I have accumulated a lot of unnecessary flotsam and jetsam over the years.

  3. I love the Mediterranean but Italy is my absolute favorite, too (and to be precise, North Italy, because of the short distances everywhere!) They really know how to enjoy life there, the simple things like fresh, carefully made food. Hard to get in Finland sometimes (or too expensive). Your photos are beautiful. What kind of camera do you have? Are you a photographer or something like that, btw? I never asked what you do/did before becoming an adventurous expat mum πŸ™‚

  4. Your food comments abut Finland are so spot on! You can really feel the love that has gone into the food in Italy. Finland…not so much haha πŸ˜‰ I love photography but it is just a hobby for me, although I used to edit a lot of photos in my job in London. I worked in fashion and would produce photoshoots and editorials for a website.

    I use a Sony A7 II like this:
    http://www.amazon.de/Sony-Digitalkamera-LC-Display-Videofunktion-Vollformat/dp/B00Q2KEUFI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1434792635&sr=8-1&keywords=sony+a7+ii

    with a Rokinon 85mm F1.4 lens which I am still getting used to but starting to love!

    Thanks for your kind comments, I would love to post more regularly like you do – I am still a bit ad hoc with my blog posts. πŸ˜‰

    1. I have a mini DSLR but it’s not that fancy, it was a cheaper model (Olympus) and I don’t even know how to use all the functions! That camera looks pretty pro. I sometimes think I post a bit too often, but I have heaps of photos so why not! I enjoy picking them out and editing them. Don’t know what else to do with them! Btw, if you ever want company to go for a stroll in a park with your kid(s), my email address is probably visible to you in your wp-admin’s comments. I’m in the center (and female, by the way!!!)… I don’t check that email daily but every once in a while… πŸ™‚ Have a great “juhannuspΓ€ivΓ€” – though rainy!

      1. Haha I assumed you were a female but thanks for clarifying πŸ˜‰ That sounds cool, I’ll see if I can figure out how to find your email. I am seriously not techy AT ALL! I live centrally too so a walking buddy would be fab! Especially after baby is out! Right now I can’t move far or fast at all!! I’ll be in touch! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

