Weekend Pancakes

Pancakes 4

First things first; coffee. With the sun not rising until about 9.30 in Helsinki it can be a slow start to the day. The thing about kids is they are always rearing to go.

Weekend 1

From 6am my little baker wearing mum’s oversized apron and waiting patiently for pancakes.

Weekend 4

Surviving winter with my new Bodum French Press. I woke up like this t-shirt from Dutch brand YAYA, my favourite cup from Marimekko and pancakes.

Weekend 6

Weekend 3

Weekend 2

With just 6 hours of daylight this time of year in Helsinki we’re hibernating a little on the weekends. Sunday has become pancake day in our house. It’s become a little family tradition we all look forward to. I used to be awful at making pancakes, I remember a disastrous Father’s Day breakfast where I could barely flip one. Now, with a bit of practise and this old fashioned recipe found on Allrecipes I think I can say I have nailed them. It’s perfect if you like like a fluffy pancake over the crêpe variety (and just between you and me they are easier to flip this way).

Enjoy your weekend, whatever you get up to I hope it’s a relaxing one.

Sift together
1.5 cups flour
3.5 tsp baking powder
add
1 Tbsp Sugar
no salt necessary

add liquid mixture to the centre of dry ingredients
1.25 cups milk – I usually add a little more than this
1 egg
3 Tbsp melted butter

Scoop into a lightly greased pan. Brown both sides & serve with chopped bananas, berries and maple syrup. Delicious, we’ll be serving these baddies up on Christmas morning.

3 thoughts on “Weekend Pancakes

    1. Yeah it’s a challenge Bex. Not much lovely natural light for taking photos. Emily Q would be horrified 😉 We even have this awful artificial sun lamp blasting through the kitchen to try and pick us up. Not really working, just blinding us with it’s light!

  1. Yummmm, no wonder the kids won’t let you lie in on Sunday’s. We think you look in pretty good shape in that cool Tee shirt. I have our coffee on too and it tastes even better in Marimekko. We have them here in NewZealand also

Leave a Reply

