Healthy(-er) Chocolate Fudge

I am half way through an 8 week boot camp specifically designed for Mums called Fit4Mom Body Back. I am loving the motivating workouts and focusing on little ways that I can live healthier lifestyle with kids.

Each week you focus on something different and I’m also setting my own goals. This week I am focussing personally on 3 things:

– Water sipping at every opportunity, something I often forget to do. I am adding slices of chopped fruit to keep it interesting and carrying a drink bottle everywhere I go (instead of a take away coffee.)
– Eating all meals at the table Since kids I have developed the sloppy habit of snacking on all their little left overs. I do a lot of mindless snacking while I am cooking too. Something I want to stop. I also just want to start sitting and enjoying my meals again, instead of inhaling whatever is kiddy food is around.
– Sleep My baby just started sleeping through the night (at 11 months, woohoo I feel like the latest mum to reach this milestone!) and as the evenings are the only quiet time I get to myself, I tend to stay up late to have a moment of peace – but then I just start the next day on the back foot, so I am trying to change things and get my 8 hours in a night.

Lastly here is a healthy recipe I picked up from a blog somewhere about three years ago. I remember as I was living in Beijing and I wasn’t a fan of the sweet food there, but I could get my hands on all of these basic ingredients. I have been making this as a healthy snack ever since. It’s quick, easy, delicious and a far healthier choice than a standard chocolate fudge. My 3 year old loves this and I figure it’s a better treat than a lot of the other processed junk out there!

Healthy Chocolate Fudge Slice

Choc slice 2 2

Layer 1
1 cup raisins
1/2 cup almonds
1/4 cup walnuts
1/4 cup coco powder
Layer 2
2 Ripe bananas
4 Tbsp Peanut Butter or Tahini
1/4 Cup Coco Powder
4 Tbsp Honey

Whip each layer together in a blender. Press the nutty base into a tray and smooth over with the banana cream layer. Pop in the freezer to set. Enjoy! x

One thought on “Healthy(-er) Chocolate Fudge

Leave a Reply

